## **Bill Summary** 1<sup>st</sup> Session of the 58<sup>th</sup> Legislature

Bill No.: SB 624
Version: CCR
Request No.: 2156
Author: Sen. Standridge
Date: 05/14/2021

## **Bill Analysis**

SB 624 designates certain sections of the highway system as the William Charles "Charley" Coen Memorial Highway, the Speaker Pro Tempore Jim R. Glover Memorial Highway, the Medal of Honor Recipient Sergeant John R. Crews Memorial Bridge, the Trooper J.C. Magar Memorial Highway, the Congressional Medal of Honor Recipient Edward A. DeVore, Jr. Memorial Bridge, the Navy Cross Recipient CPL Russell Keck Memorial Highway, the Sweetwater Veterans Memorial Highway, the SSGT Cecil Wellman Memorial Bridge, the Officer Michael Bruce Keen Memorial Bridge, the Tommy Wayne Haley Memorial Bridge, the MSGT Michael Werdehoff Vietnam MIA Memorial Bridge, the James Amos Callins Memorial Bridge, the Lieutenant Eugene Smith Memorial Highway, the SP4 Alfred Dean Hildebrand Memorial Highway the Bud Martin Memorial Bridge, the Private Robert "Bob" Clark Memorial Bridge, and the President Donald J. Trump Highway. The measure also strikes the requirement for persons proposed to be so honored to have been deceased not less than 3 years, received the Medal of Honor, or been a member of the armed forces or emergency personnel that fell in the line of duty.

## **CCR Changes**

The Conference Committee for SB 624 strikes the requirement for persons to have been deceased not less than 3 years, received the Medal of Honor, or been a member of the armed forces or emergency personnel that fell in the line of duty.

Prepared by: Kalen Taylor